top of page

POETRY: An Angel's Last Wish


I very, very seldom do romantic poems, or even love stories. I usually shy away from such topics or look at my brother from another mother, F. Kenneth Taylor, tackle that specific subject. I really didn't have a strong reason for such an avoidance but any note here we go... I wrote this love poem which of all illogical puns or tributes from me it was a dedication to a love story; Nicholas Cage and Meg Ryan's “City of Angels.”

Other than Poetic Justice (Tupac Shakur & Janet Jackson) and Disappearing Acts (Wesley Snipes & Sanaa Lathan), this particular film somehow touched me to write a poem about it. In truth, I never wrote a poem in relation to any movie I seen which, to this point, I'm still confused over that act (the poem itself is over 15 years old). Maybe a particular person had my thoughts wrapped up tightly to which my comfort in avoiding became less of an idea to cherish. Moot point at that time, I can't really remember so the actual feeling and rationale will be lost as of now.

Love is something that can't be easily explained, or even desired with limited knowledge of its glory and pain. The need for companionship is so strong that doubt and confusion over the authenticity of defining love, labeling its structural blocks to see how it develops within. Is a lover in love with the one he or she wants; desires beyond the reason of logic? And is that person is okay with all the choices that defines that statement? I'm thinking I see why I was building such a potent connection with this movie. The desire to want someone even if you forsake time and life itself is worth it in the journey of defining oneself in relation to love. I cherish and detest so easily and oddly simple mindfulness lead that way to young thinking. Well, sometimes but I showed glimpses of maturity as well.

Here's my piece... Thanks again everyone! Be well, drink coffee and tea, whatever you do, be the best you need and want to be...

An Angel's Last Wish (Inspired by the motion picture, City of Angels)

I wish I could see your face, once before vanishing wind.

Once in a while the absurd happens love intakes rational to mortal presence inside of you.

I drift above plague waves from loner's beach of cinnamon sands builds us, creates imagination, sustains trust

just lay with me til' I sleep, oh please touch my chest as my heart move forward towards you.

In brief I cease in conscience I breath to love is to hop to believe in faith is to never die. By K.G. Bethlehem ©

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page