top of page

Monuments To Nothingness

​"Monuments to Nothingness"

Scene1 (College Graduation )

Friend1 -Congrats bro!

Friends1,2,3 - So what are you going to do now?

Friend1 - Grad school

Calvin Jr. - I don't know what I want to do now! Besides not be in school.

Mom (As she gathers the crew and gets them in the car) - Huh, well whatever it is you do, it's gonna pay off all these loans.

(The look of anger on Cj's face) - (Flash back to apt senior year of high school)

CJ- I don't want to go to college, I want to work, I'm not trying to owe all that money.

Mom - I would like for you to think about college. How do you expect to get a job at all without a degree.

CJ - My uncle didn't go to college, and he's working, and seems to be doing okay for himself.

Mom - Is that what you want to do? Just be okay? I don't think you hear how naive you sound right now.

CJ - I don't even know what I want to do. It would just be a waste of time and money that I won't be able to pay back.

Mom - If you would apply yourself in school you can get a scholarship. There are several scholarships out there, you just have to look.

(CJ and his friend are on the couch smoking weed)

Friend - See, my mom ain't tripping as long as I don't have no babies or no warrants. I can get my shit together and work at the (store) until I g t enough saved up and I'm moving to Cali bruh!

CJ - Cali? What you going to do out there?

Friend - I don't know yet, but I'mma smoke good (coughs and laughs)

CJ - And you right about that, shit, I wish my mom was chill like yours! She just gets on my nerves sometimes. She basically telling me she wants me to go to college, and at first I had a choice. Now it's like she thinks I would be a failure if I don't.

Friend - Bruh, hit the 'j'. . .you stressing. I'm sure she ain't gonna look at you like that she just. . .you know, want the best for you.

CJ - You right man. (Inhales and fade to black)

(Still on the couch) (audio comes on) - So many opportunities with a degree! All they care about is if went to college! All the jobs now-a-days going to college, educated motherfuckers, I think my man said they starting to ask if you got one at his job.

End of Excerpt

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page